Review: Trader Joe’s French Macaroon Cookies

I hope you had the merriest of Christmases and enjoyed a day of celebration and relaxation with your loved ones!  Today I have a review to share with you, of the cookies I ended up eating with my family after Christmas dinner! 🙂

Macaroons are all the rage right now, at least in the wedding and food blogging worlds.  I’ve had a recipe for them bookmarked since last Spring (before going gluten free) and I’m determined to make them.  Some day.

But since I had an insanely short prep time for Christmas cooking/baking, thanks to working up until Christmas Eve Eve, and being sick most of last week, there was no way I was going to make my own macaroons for Christmas.

I did, however, pick up some at Trader Joe’s.

These are incredibly hard to find – the stores only carry them sometimes, and sell out of them quickly.  Plus they’re frozen – which is sort of confusing unless you know they’re there.  But they are totally worth keeping an eye out for.  Tucked between the cheesecakes and bonbons in the freezer section of our local Trader Joe’s, I found a stack of boxes of these Macaroons a la Parisienne.  Of course I flipped them over right away to check the ingredients, even though macaroons are made with almond flour and should be gluten free by definition (of course you never know!).  They were good to go, so I bought two packages to share with my family.

Each package has six vanilla macaroons and six chocolate ones.  The chocolate are filled with a rich dark chocolate ganache, while the vanilla are filled with a light vanilla cream.  Both the vanilla and chocolate cookies are crisp on the outside, chewy on the inside, and verge on being too sweet (as is so often the case with meringues).  They’re not artisan macaroon cookies from a French bakery, but they’re more than acceptable as a nice gluten and gum free treat.  My family agreed that we liked the vanilla slightly better than the chocolate (even though we’re generally chocolate fans – I actually think it was because the vanilla was really quite tasty).  I will definitely be getting these again, if and when I can find them!

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Sing it!!

