Gluten Free Holidays and Being Well

I’ve been struggling for the last two or three weeks with being sick.  As far as we can tell, this has absolutely nothing to do with my being gluten intolerant – it’s all other stuff – but considering that one thing turned into two others, I’m not very happy about it.  I’ve been to the doctor’s office more times than I can count (since we’re also doing all sorts of lovely tests to rule out parasites and diseases in my gut, before I go in next week for my celiac resistance test).  I have been poked, prodded, and checked.

The good news is that, despite my hypoglycemia, I don’t have diabetes.  YAY!  Sometimes the two can be linked, and I had started to worry – since I’ve had quite a few days where I felt seriously low blood sugar lately – that I had contracted that on top of everything else. I just think it’s more general crappiness that I’ve been dealing with.

I just took my prescription pills (two, since apparently I’ve got double the fun going on right now) and I’ve said a few prayers that they stay down.  I’ve got a notoriously sensitive stomach for pills (which is why I take dye-free vitamins!) and any time I get medicine I worry about it.  Not to mention my worry about side effects (since I had such a horrific time two years ago with the antibiotics a well-meaning doctor prescribed me that had an INSANE side-effect list including, well, intestinal difficulties that could, according to the packaging, linger for months).  I’m crossing my fingers.

I just hope that I start feeling better soon.

On a less awful note, it’s Christmas in….  5 days?  That’s insane.  Our tree is half-decorated.  Our kitchen is a wreck.  We still haven’t sent out Christmas presents to my husband’s family, and our Christmas cards just went out this morning.  Except for the ones for my clients.  Oops.  Glad they say “Happy Holidays” because they might end up being New Year’s cards.

Despite all the craziness,  I really am looking forward to Christmas.  Not just because it brings me a week off work (I work up until Christmas Eve Eve, though, and will be doing a lot for my business during my gap week).  I love spending time with my family and giving gifts to my loved ones.  We’re actually going a little nontraditional this year (well, considering my grandmother’s parents emigrated from Ensenada, maybe this is actually MORE traditional, but not for Christmases since I’ve been alive!), and making the whole shebang gluten free.  Tamales (Costco has a big box of them, with flavorful beef and fluffy masa, and we’ll supplement with Trader Joes’ brand for the vegetarian), Spanish rice, refried beans, zucchini with corn (apparently my great grandmother’s recipe), and a big green salad.  My aunt and grandma will probably bring Christmas cookies.  I’ll see if I have time to make any for myself, but at least I’ll be bringing GF chocolate cupcakes (I use Ina Garten’s recipe, but sub a GF flour blend) with buttercream frosting for my mom’s birthday (she’s born on Christmas).

Oh, and last night I had a tiny bit of ice cream from the ice cream shop down the road.  I love this place so much.  But they use guar gum in their ice cream base.  So I’ve been mostly staying away.  Well, once I found out (thanks hubby for asking them!).  Sure enough, I noticed it this morning.  Sadness.  It seems like I’m getting more sensitive.

I’m just hoping to get through the next few days without any more health issues.  I am wondering if my body’s lack of fighting against infections is a sign of celiac (since it’s an autoimmune disorder)?  I guess I’ll find out…

This entry was posted in Talk and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Sing it!!

