Review: St. Amour Cookies

I’m starting something new today.  I’ve been thinking about this since I started blogging about being without gluten and gums.  There aren’t that many products out there that I can eat.  Processed ones, at least.  I try to stay away from food that’s processed, in general, but sometimes you’ve got to have a cookie.  Or a cracker.  Or another snack.  It’s especially important when I’m on the go, or at my desk at work, to have non-homemade options that I know about.  Trust me, no matter how on top of things I am, there are times when I just can’t cook.  Period.

I work two jobs.  It happens.

Anyway, lately I’ve been really keeping my eyes open for gluten- and gum-free products.  There aren’t a lot out there.  It’s tough to find them.  So I thought I’d review some.

By the way, I’m not super comfortable with the idea of getting free things to review.  It’s just me.  So unless I say otherwise, any and every review I do will be of things I bought myself, with my own money, unprompted by the manufacturers.  That way I can be completely unbiased.

So…  These St. Amour cookies.

I bought them a couple of month back at Whole Foods (this review actually should have posted in September but for some reason it didn’t!).  They’re not cheap.  A very small package runs you about $5.  But they don’t have junk in them.  Rice flour, sugar, butter, vanilla.  It’s nice to see a list of pronounceable ingredients.  I haven’t tried all the flavors, so I can only speak to the two I have.  One – the vanilla butter cookies – was pretty amazing.  Crunchy, crumbly, sweet.  Slightly too sweet, in comparison to my memory of Nilla wafers, but these are a nice treat with some black coffee.  I’d highly recommend these to someone buying a treat for a gluten free friend, or for a gluten free person to have lying around just in case.  I will say that they tended to give me quite a hypoglycemic crash if I ate more than one (which I did only once), which was, I think, a result of the amount of sugar in them.

The other – the lemon vanilla madelines – was dense, heavy, and frankly not good at all.  I was excited to try them, since I love madelines, but these weren’t the slightly-crisp-on-the-outside and featherlight-cake-on-the-inside traditional madeline cookies…  They were simultaneously dry and soggy, dense, and completely one-dimensional.  I wouldn’t recommend them.  I guess I’m just going to have to make my own some day!

I have a few more products I’m excited to review here in the next several weeks!

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Sing it!!

