Fluffy Teff Muffins

Before I found out that gluten wasn’t my friend, I used to make a buttery plain muffin recipe that I developed.  It was fluffy, light, and beautifully pure.  The flavor was just butter and flour – with just a touch of sugar and salt – but it was flexible enough to add berries or oats or any other extras I felt like tossing in.  It took under 10 minutes to mix up and was easy enough for a child to put together.

In short, it was the perfect muffin.

Until now.

My husband said to me when I made these the first time: “If I got this at a fancy restaurant and didn’t know it was specifically gluten free, I would just think it was awesome.”

I think these might even be better than the original recipe.  And they’re gluten and gum free!

Elisa’s Fluffy Teff Muffins (makes 12 standard muffins)

  • 230 g teff flour
  • 70 g arrowroot, tapioca, or potato starch
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp flax seeds (Don’t bother making a slurry – I’ve actually pretty much stopped that practice altogether and my breads come out with a good texture most of the time!  In this recipe you definitely don’t need to worry about it!)
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 200 g milk

Thanks to my trusty food scale, I can consistently make these.  It’s a little scary to use grams instead of cups, when you first start working with them, but it’s really a fantastic way of baking!

Mix together your dry ingredients in a bowl.  Add your eggs and milk and mix.  You’re not trying to get rid of lumps here, just to incorporate the eggs and milk enough that they won’t cool down the butter too fast.

Lastly, add your butter.  My husband has a hard time with recipes like this because he wants to add the hot butter to the cold milk and he ends up with clumps.  In this recipe, your muffins will still be salvageable (no gluten = no rock-like final product, no matter how much you stir it!) but it’s far easier if you get the order of operations right!

Scoop into lined muffin cups.  I actually really like my silicone muffin cups for this purpose, since they won’t stick to this rather sticky batter. Bake for 20 minutes at 350 degrees.  Devour.

You can add rolled oats, if you can tolerate them, or nuts or seeds, or blueberries.  You can add more sugar (although you don’t really need to – we’re making muffins, not cupcakes!).  You can add a streusel topping.  But at the core, these are really just incredibly delicate, fluffy, and light muffins with a fantastic sweet whole grain flavor thanks to the teff!

By the way, I have a photo of these.  It’s on my fancy camera.  Of course I can’t find my cord right now.  Which is why the photo is on my camera still.  Oh well, they’re not that much to look at.  But they taste great!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Sing it!!

