SUPER Light Buckwheat Pancake/Waffle Recipe

I wanted pancakes on Saturday.  It was not an option not to have them.  I had made Gluten Free Girl’s Buttermilk Pancake recipe two weeks ago, and despite how much I adore her recipes (and her site in general), it just didn’t work for me.  I’m not sure if perhaps I should have used baking soda instead of the powder in the recipe (since doesn’t buttermilk make an awfully acidic batter?), or if I somehow mis-measured something, or if my baking powder lost its oomph…  They were flat and brittle and just not good.  I have a feeling that it was operator error (me) rather than recipe error (her), especially since she has so many comments about how awesome they are.  But they just didn’t work for me.  Anyway, I digress.

Saturday, I really wanted pancakes.

So I Googled them.

And I found them.

We made them.  We ate them.  Devoured them, really.  My husband says he likes them better than my favorite (awesome) gluten-full pancake recipe (one I found online and have shared with tons of friends over the last few years, but was too afraid to try to adapt, since wheat works so very differently than other flours).  I said I thought they might make a good waffle too.  They’re so light, and use a pancake-like technique with the whipped egg whites.

So Sunday I made waffles.

Yeah, I know.  Obsessive.

But totally right.

This is the perfect waffle recipe.

The only thing is that the original makes just 9 pancakes.  When you have something that amazing, you want leftovers.  Preferably leftovers you can pull from the freezer when you’re running late to work and toast up in a few minutes.  Kind of like freezer waffles, but a zillion times better.  So I doubled it.

And added an extra egg.  For a texture boost.  I like my waffles full of tiny little air pockets, and super crunchy.  I also used brown sugar and salted butter.  It’s a preference thing.  I also really like how the buckwheat tastes in these, so I wanted everything else to be a backnote.  As a result, this recipe has very little salt or sugar.  The flavor is that of the buckwheat, and it sings.

That flavor is robust, round, almost nutty, and sweet.  You know they’re whole grain, but they’re not harsh or dark.  You don’t miss the wheat one iota.  I sort of wish I’d stumbled across this years ago, because I’d have loved them then.  They’re that good.

And now I have waffles in the freezer for at least the next week.  WIN.

Buckwheat Pancake and Waffle Recipe (adapted from Wrightfood)

  • 2 cups buckwheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder (because, let’s face it, who actually has a 1/3 tsp measuring spoon?)
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar (I didn’t want too maple-y a flavor; I tried cutting this down initially, and the pancake flavor seemed a bit flat, but the tiny bit of sugar rounds out the flavor a lot)
  • 2 cups milk (9/10: the original recipe had 2 1/2 cups, and it seemed a bit runny to me…  So we tried it this morning with only 2, and it’s PERFECT!  If you like thinner pancakes, you might want a little less, but this will give you perfectly puffy and thick ones)
  • 2 tbsp SALTED butter, melted and cooled
  • 3 eggs, separated
  • 1 /4 tsp buttermilk powder (optional; it just gives the tiniest hint of a light sourness in the background that I think compliments the flavor immensely, but I don’t like things very sour)

Warm your waffle iron or griddle.  You want it good and hot!

Whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and buttermilk powder, if using.

In a separate bowl, beat egg whites with a hand mixer just until they form stiff peaks.  It’s better to slightly undermix (since the original recipe says to create soft peaks) than overmix.  I like the structure stiff peaks give to my waffles, but your mileage may vary.  Set aside.

Add milk, butter, and egg yolks to the flour mixture.  Now you know that most (wheat) pancake and waffle recipes say for you to be careful about overmixing.  Don’t worry a bit here.  Just mix to your heart’s content.  Whisk until you can’t see another lump.

Add your egg whites to your batter, folding gently with a rubber spatula.  You want most of the egg whites to be incorporated into the batter (it’s ok for there to be the occasional lump of egg white).  You can see in the photo above that there are a few lumps of egg white still hanging around, but that most has been incorporated into the batter.

Pour your batter into your greased waffle iron or onto your greased griddle.  I like 1/3 cup pours for both waffles and pancakes (your waffle iron may fit more, or less, and you may want differently-sized pancakes).  For pancakes, cook on one side until there are lots of bubbles that pop and leave craters, and flip to the other side and cook until golden brown.  For waffles, cook per your iron’s instructions.  Or if you’re like me and got your waffle iron for $1 at a thrift store (brand new – and we use it all the time, so it was an incredibly good buy), until you open it up and the waffles don’t stick and are golden in color.  Yes it took lots of trial and error before I could make that happen.

This should make exactly 19 pancakes or waffles if you use 1/3 cup pours.  I’m glad, because I ate four waffles by myself.  Don’t judge.

Also don’t laugh at my poor attempt to style the waffle photo.  Please no cracks about the fact that I’m actually a designer (events, people, not photos!).  I was trying to simultaneously cook, eat, get dressed, and take a photo.  And my regular camera had died, so I was using what I could find (my husband’s point-and-shoot).  Also that giant pat of butter looks heinous, and I have got to get some plain white plates.  I’m learning, I swear!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SUPER Light Buckwheat Pancake/Waffle Recipe

  1. Shu Han says:

    the waffles look amazing, can just totally imagine them topped with homemade icecream! I’m just wondering about the pancakes, do they make american-style fluffy pancakes, or the uk-style pancakes which are more like crepes? I love my sourdough spelt crepes, but I’m interested in trying out buckwheat, what’s the flavour like? earthier?

    http://mummyicancook.blogspot.com/2011/08/sourdough-crepes-with-caramelised.html?utm_source=BP_recent

    • Elisa says:

      Thank you! I can’t really take credit for the recipe – just sticking it in a waffle iron! ;-) They’re quite fluffy (the original website I liked to has a photo) because of the whipped egg whites. The flavor is QUITE earthy, almost like a dark American brown bread (although I don’t know if that will help if you’re from the UK!). Very dark, almost sweet. A definite change from spelt! :-)

Sing it!!

